Don’t be shy

One of the greatest things about the industry in the amount of help, advice and inclusion there is.

Networking takes effort but it’s not that scary. You would be surprised how far a little polite email or Facebook message can go. I have got in touch with so many artists, art directors and studios asking for information, portfolio reviews or just generally “your work is amazing, hello my name is…”

When I was just starting out I got some fantastic portfolio reviews from Kevin McDowell (The Creative Assembly) and Eddie Del Rio (former Lead Concept artist for Lucas Film).  If I listed the amount of people I now have on my Skype or email contacts list this would be a huge post.

Making yourself known and showing that you are a good person to know/ work with is half the battle.

So go send an email or two.

Leave a Reply

